Translations from Silence by Clifton Ross wins PEN Oakland Award

Freedom Voices

We are pleased to note that Translations from Silence  by Clifton Ross has won the 20th annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles National Literary Award outstanding book of poetry published in 2009, awarded in 2010.  Please join us at the PEN Oakland Awards ceremony and booksigning.

PEN OAKLAND 20th Annual 2010 Literary Awards
Oakland Public Library,
Rockridge Branch, 5366 College Ave.
Saturday, December 11, 2010, 2 PM – 5 PM

The 20th Annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles National Literary Awards will take place on Saturday, December 11, 2010, at the Oakland Public Library, Rockridge Branch, 5366 College Avenue from 2 to 5 p.m. The ceremony, which will be followed by a reception and book signings, is free and open to the public. Former state Senate President Pro TemDon Perata will be the keynote speaker.  For further information, please contact Kim McMillon at (510) 681-5652.

PEN Oakland, founded in 1989, is a chapter of PEN International, founded in 1921. Dubbed "the blue collar PEN" by the New York Times, PEN Oakland annually sponsors the PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Book Awards, named for the late poet and faculty member of U.C. Berkeley's English Department. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the awards. Each year PEN Oakland presents an award to outstanding book titles published in the previous year.

The 2010 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Award winners are: (for books published in 2009)

Clifton Ross. Translations from Silence: New and Selected Poems. Freedom Voices
Press. (poetry)

Elizabeth Nunez. Anna In-Between. Akashic Press. (fiction)

Etel Adnan. Master of the Eclipse. Interlink Publishing Group. (fiction)

Manuel Ruben Delgado. The Last Chicano. Authorhouse Publications. (memoir)

Andrena Zawinski. Something About. Blue Light Press/First World Publishing. (poetry)

Maria Espinosa. Dying Unfinished. Wings Press. (fiction/memoir)

Mitch Horowitz. Occult America: The Secret History of How Mysticism Shaped
Our Nation. Bantam. (non-fiction)

Ivan J. Houston. Black Warriors: The Buffalo Soldiers of World War II:
Memories of the Only Negro Infantry Division to Fight in Europe. iUniverse. (non-fiction)

Journalist Richard Prince is the winner of the 2010 Censorship Award.

Satirist Paul Krassner and the late author and publisher Vance Bourjaily will each receive Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related items:

About Freedom Voices

Some Information

Freedom Voices publishes works that speak to or from communities on the margins. Founded in 1989 in San Francisco’s Tenderloin District the press has grown from its origins as a community publisher to include works from around the globe.

FV works closely with the TallMountain Circle which produces, promotes and distributes Mary TallMountain’s literary works and chooses the winners of the TallMountain Award for Creative Writing and Community Service.

FV also distibutes New Earth Publications imprint such as translations of Nicaraguan Ernesto Cardenal’s Quetalcoatl , Costa Rican activist Luisa Gonzalez’s autobiography and Voice of Fire, Communiques and interviews from the Zapatista National Liberation Army.

Freedom Voices is a project of the non-profit Tenderloin Reflection and Education Center and organizes public readings and writing workshops in conjunction with the Center. Freedom Voices is also a partner in the Encounters in the Americas/Encuentros de los Americas project for popular literacy. The founding editor of Freedom Voices is B. Jesse Clarke. Editorial decisions are made by a collective of writers, activists, and street scholars.